" The happiest moments of my life have been the few which I have passed at home in the bosom of my family." ~Thomas Jefferson~
Emily's Page


2005-03-09

Ear Infections and Seizures

Emily woke up earlier this morning and said, "My ear hurts like I have an ear infection."

My first thought?

"Oh my God, Is she going to have a seizure?"

Kind of a weird thought for those who do not know the background so let me share.

In June, when Emily was first diagnosed with epilepsy, she was also diagnosed with a severe ear infection.

The only other time she has ever had a seizure since being diagnosed was in October and guess what? She also had an ear infection.

Up until that point (June, 2004) she had never had an ear infection in her life, even as a baby when infections are more common.

I have mentioned this oddity to her neurologist. He has never heard of any specific connection between ear infections and seizures, except for the general knowledge that when children with epilepsy don't feel well, seizures are more common.

Still, I find it odd. She doesn't have sezures when she is otherwise sick (with a cold or stomach virus or whatever), only when she gets an ear infection.

In any event, I hope that she doesn't have an ear infection and, if by chance she does, that it doesn't lead to a seizure.

0 comments so far

before & after


Who Links Here


Journal

Check This Out

Contact

Credits